Solid Box

American National Bankshares Inc. Completes Operational Merger with HomeTown Bank



ROANOKE, VA. – American National Bankshares Inc. (NASDAQ: AMNB – “American National”) has completed the final steps in consolidating Roanoke’s, HomeTown Bank, with the signs and banking systems all updated over the weekend.

American National now employs 115 people in nine banking offices in the former HomeTown footprint and has named Roanoke, the banking headquarters for the state of Virginia. “We couldn’t be more excited about expanding our presence in Roanoke and the New River Valley communities as we welcome new and existing customers to our community bank,” remarked Jeffrey Haley, President & CEO of American National Bank & Trust Company.

The board of American National Bankshares Inc. celebrated this market presence by holding its first board meeting in Roanoke following the April 1 deal closing, where it welcomed three new directors to its board from Roanoke and the New River Valley. The three new members joining the board of American National as a result of the merger with HomeTown are Nancy Howell Agee, President and CEO of Carilion Clinic, Kenneth Bowling of HT Bowling in Radford, and Susan Still, former President & CEO of HomeTown Bank. In addition, a Virginia Banking Board has been established consisting of other members of the HomeTown Bank board to help provide guidance in this part of the state. “I look forward to having these community leaders join the board of American National and working with them, particularly as we strategically expand our presence in these strong and dynamic markets,” Haley commented.

American National Bank & Trust Company’s official headquarters for the bank and American National Bankshares Inc. will remain in Danville, Virginia. With the HomeTown acquisition, Roanoke is the banking headquarters for the state of Virginia, with other corporate functions like credit and marketing for the entire Company based in Roanoke as well. Greensboro is the state banking headquarters for the state of North Carolina.